79th Annual Awards Exhibition

79th Annual Awards Exhibition

Annual Exhibition


Brookgreen Gardens, Pawleys Island, SC

The National Sculpture Society (NSS) is pleased to present its 79th Annual Awards Exhibition at Brookgreen Gardens, South Carolina. Opening on Saturday, August 4, the juried show features the figurative works of 45 members. The show will be exhibited exclusively on the grounds of the historic gardens, located between Murrells Inlet and Litchfield, where it will be on display through October 28.

The Annual Awards Exhibition is National Sculpture Society’s most popular show.  Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes. The sculpture on display ranges from classical to contemporary, and is composed of portrait busts, bas-reliefs and full-size figures.  Highlights of the show include a discus-throwing monkey, a pre-teen pondering his adolescence, a couple embraced in a passionate tango, and a stable of wild and domestic animals to please everyone. The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds and disciplines of NSS members. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates make up the levels of sculptor membership of the organization, which is international in scope and appeal. National Sculpture Society and its members are dedicated to promoting excellence in art that is inspired by nature.

A Jury of Selection, comprised of two NSS Fellows and one curator, chose the 43 works from the 211 entries. This year’s Jury of Selection included Amy Kann, FNSS; Lawrence Noble, FNSS; and Kevin Murphy, Curator of American Art, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art (Bentonville, AR). Sculptors featured in the exhibition are:  Douglas Aja; Daniel Altshuler, NSS; Marlys Boddy, Kate Brockman, George Bumann, NSS; Ivan Chermel; Tim Cherry, FNSS; Jane DeDecker, FNSS; Angela Mia De La Vega, NSS; Stacy Deslatte; Deon Duncan; Martin Gates, NSS; Martin Glick; Jay F. Goldstein, NSS; John L. Guest; Timothy Hooton, NSS; Anne Huibregtse, NSS; Barry Woods Johnston, FNSS; Carter Jones, FNSS; Joshua Koffman; Jim Licaretz, FNSS; Richard Loffler, NSS; Duncan MacDiarmid; Thomas McClelland; Paul Moore, FNSS; Ken Newman, NSS; Alex Palkovich, NSS; Louise Peterson, FNSS; Rosie Irwin Price; Louis Quaintance, NSS; Paul Rhymer; Rosetta, FNSS; Mary Sand; Rik Sargent; Rikki Morley Saunders; Stefan Savides; Stephen Saxenian; Christopher Smith, FNSS; Ryoichi Suzuki, NSS; Kathe Umlauf; Bart Walter, FNSS; Dale Weiler; and Steve Worthington, NSS. A separate Jury of Awards will convene after the show is installed to select the prize winners.

National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors.  Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s.  It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States, and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century.

Brookgreen Gardens was founded by Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington in 1931 and today is a National Historic Landmark and a display garden with the most extensive collection of figurative sculpture in an outdoor setting by American artists in the world.  In addition to the gardens, Brookgreen offers year-round courses and workshops to sculptors as well as programs and tours for visitors of all ages and interests.


Buy now