81st Annual Awards Exhibition


The National Sculpture Society (NSS) is pleased to present its 81st Annual Awards Exhibition showing exclusively at Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina. Opening on Saturday, August 8, the juried show features the figurative works of 48 contemporary sculptors. The show will be on view until November 2.

The Annual Awards Exhibition is National Sculpture Society’s most popular show. Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes. The sculpture on display ranges from classical to contemporary, and is composed of portrait busts, bas-reliefs and figures ranging in all sizes and dimensions. Highlights of the show include a springing jack-in-the-box; an aviary of exotic birds; portrait busts of celebrated heroes; and figures, animal and human, captured in natural, unguarded moments.  The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds and disciplines of NSS members. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates make up the levels of sculptor membership of the organization, which is international in scope and appeal. National Sculpture Society and its members are dedicated to promoting excellence in art that is inspired by nature.

A Jury of Selection, comprised of two NSS Members and one curator, chose 48 works from the 178 entries. This year’s Jury of Selection included Michael Keropian, FNSS; Louise Peterson, FNSS; and Michael Panhorst, Curator of Art, Montgomery Museum of Fine Arts (Montgomery, AL). Sculptors featured in the exhibition are: Marlys Boddy; Paige Bradley, NSS; George Bumann, NSS; Tim Cherry, FNSS; Eugene Daub, FNSS; Judeth Davis; Mick Doellinger; Deon Duncan, NSS; Martin Eichinger, FNSS; Steve Flom; Karina Furhman; Jay Goldstein, NSS; Terry Guyer; Ben Hammond, NSS; Amy Kann, FNSS; Brian Keith, NSS; Michael Keropian, FNSS (juror); Joshua Koffman, NSS; Stephen Layne, NSS; Matt Lewis, NSS; Jim Licaretz, FNSS; Richard Loffler, NSS; Roy Paul Madsen, NSS; Roger Martin, NSS; Walter Matia, FNSS; Herb Mignery, FNSS; B. Millner; Pamela Mummy; Dora Natella, NSS; Olga Nielsen; Louise Peterson, FNSS (juror); Lori Kiplinger Pandy; Mardie Rees; Diana Reuter-Twining; Paul Rhymer; Stefan Savides; Sandy Scott, NSS; Tim Shinabarger, FNSS; Lori Shorin, NSS; Tom Silveroli, NSS; Gary Staab, NSS; Kristine Taylor; Joshua Tobey, NSS; Bart Walter, FNSS; Dale A. Weiler, NSS; Wesley Wofford, NSS; Thomas Zahn; and Rod Zullo, NSS. A separate Jury of Awards will convene after the show is installed to select the prize winners.

National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors.  Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s.  It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States, and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century.

Brookgreen Gardens was founded by Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington in 1931 and today is a National Historic Landmark and a garden museum with the most extensive collection of figurative sculpture in an outdoor setting by American artists in the world.  In addition to the gardens, Brookgreen offers year-round courses and workshops to sculptors as well as programs and tours for visitors of all ages and interests.