Please note: This event has passed
83rd Annual Awards Exhibition
August 06 - October 30, 2016
Brookgreen Gardens, South Carolina
Mark Edward Adams, NSS Unbroken Bronze | 9.25" x 7" x 2.75"
Marciano Amaral Mother & Child Carrara Marble | 10.5" x 19" x 9.5"
Bela Bacsi, FNSS Poesy Statuary Marble | 29" x 7" x 6"
Mike Barlow Fly By Bronze | 18" x 68" x 11"
Joy Kroeger Beckner, FNSS Miss Me Bronze | 7" x 19.5" x 11"
John Belardo, NSS The Sabine Terra Cotta | 19" x 14" x 10"
Michael Bergt, FNSS Embody Wood | 17" x 13" .75"
Betty Branch Pirro Plaster | 18" x 15" x 12"
Jeffrey Briggs, NSS The Messenger Forton MG | 28.5" x 18.75" x 1.5"
Kate Brockman, NSS Fulcrum Bronze | 31" x 11" x 6"
Mary Buckman Bethany Terra Cotta | 18" x 11" x 7.5"
George Bumann, NSS Vigilance Bronze | 19.5' x 22" x 8.5"
Kevin Chambers, NSS Awaken Cold Cast Bronze | 16" x 10" x 10"
Tim Cherry, FNSS Branch Bender Bronze | 17" x 38" x 7"
Darrell Davis, NSS Lion in Winter Bronze | 22" x 45" x 9"
Magdalena Dobrucka Amadeus Bronze | 11.8" x 9" x .8"
Morgan Dummitt Wayfarers Bronze | 41" x 17" x 19"
Arlene Fins Garden Stretch Bronze | 11" x 15" x 7.5"
Steve Flom Cloud Limestone | 25" x 14" x 8"
Jim Green Side By Side Bronze | 13" x 9.75" x 9.25"
Ben Hammond, NSS After The Bath Bronze | 19" x 18" x 9"
Lee Hutt, FNSS The Portrait As Muse Painted Resin on Steel | 22" x 10" x 10"
Carter Jones, FNSS Rockcroc Marble | 9" x 17" x 6"
Joshua Koffman, NSS Synagoga & Ecclesia Bronze | 18" x 22" x 13"
Garrett Masterson Undercover Hawk Fired Clay | 21" x 21" x 10"
Stephen Layne, NSS Pacquiao Hydrocal | 48" x 22" x 14"
Walter Matia, FNSS The Once and Future Kings Bronze | 22" x 23" x 18"
Pamela Mummy Black and White Ceramic | 21" x 12" x 8"
Ken Newman, NSS Rat Race Bronze | 9" x 23" x 10"
Lawrence Noble, FNSS Cicada Days & Firefly Nights Bronze & Wood
Peregrine O'Gormley, NSS New Eyes Cherry Wood | 10" x 10" x 5"
Louise Peterson, FNSS Mill Dog Rescue Bronze | 12.5" x 13" x 8"
Colin & Kristine Poole Ktisis: Muse of Creation Bronze | 12.5" x 14.5" x 9"
Steve Saxenian Lucy Asadourian Bronze | 22" x 16" x 9"
Sandy Scott, FNSS Ovis Aries Bronze | 10" x 13" x 5"
Sherry Sander, FNSS Cougar Bronze | 12" x 18" x 4"
Dominique St. Cyr Vivian Marble | 11" x 6" x 5"
Suzanne Graham Storer Alec, My Son Ceramic | 21.75" x 17.5" x 6.5"
Joshua Tobey, NSS Siesta Bronze | 23" x 33" x 8"
Leroy Transfield, NSS The Mannerist Bronze | 6" x 10" x 7"
Alexander Tylevich Cubism’s Eulogy: Malevich Bronze/Glass/Wood/Magnets | 22" x 17" x 12"
Jeremiah D. Welsh, NSS Mayflies and Trout Rise Cast Bronze | 20.5" x 11.75" x .5"
Melinda Whitmore Suspension I & II Epoxy/Copper/Iron | 48" x 26" x 20" & 51" x 24" x 26"
Belgin Yucelen Present Bronze | 14" x 6" x 3"
Jeffrey Zygmunt U Bronze | 5.5" x 5.5" x 7"

83rd Annual Awards Exhibition
Brookgreen Gardens, Pawleys Island, SC
August 6 – October 30, 2016

The National Sculpture Society is pleased to present its 83rd Annual Awards Exhibition showing at Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina. Opening on August 6, the juried show features the figurative works of 45 contemporary sculptors. The show will be on view until October 30.

The Annual Awards Exhibition is National Sculpture Society’s most popular show. Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes.The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds and disciplines of NSS members. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates make up the levels of sculptor membership in the organization, which is international in scope and appeal. National Sculpture Society is dedicated to promoting excellence in sculpture that is inspired by nature.

The Jury of Selection and Jury of Awards play an important part in the annual exhibition and each jury is comprised of two sculptors and one curator. This year the Jury of Selection chose the 45 works from the 255 entries. The Jury of Selection included Michael Bergt, FNSS; Dr. Susan Greenberg Fisher, Executive Director, The Renee & Chaim Gross Foundation; and Sherry Sander, FNSS. Sculptors featured in the exhibition are: Mark Edward Adams, NSSMarciano AmaralBéla Bácsi, FNSSMike BarlowJoy Kroeger Beckner, FNSSJohn Belardo, NSSMichael Bergt, FNSS & JurorBetty BranchJeffrey Briggs, NSSKate Brockman, NSSMary BuckmanGeorge Bumann, NSSKevin Chambers, NSSTim Cherry, NSSDarrell Davis, NSSMagdalena Dobrucka;  Morgan Dummitt;  Arlene FinsSteve FlomJim Green;  Ben Hammond, NSS; Lee Hutt, FNSSCarter Jones, FNSSJoshua Koffman, NSSStephen Layne, NSSGarrett Masterson;  Walter Matia, FNSS;Pamela MummyKen Newman, NSSLawrence Noble, FNSSPeregrine O’Gormley, NSS;  Louise Peterson, FNSS; Colin Poole & Kristine Poole; Sherry Sander, FNSS & Juror; Steve SaxenianSandy Scott, FNSS; Dominique St. CyrSuzanne Graham StorerJoshua Tobey, NSSLeroy Transfield, FNSS; Alexander Tylevich,  Jeremiah D. Welsh, NSS;  Melinda Whitmore;  Belgin Yucelen; and Jeffrey Zygmunt.  The Jury of Awards will meet in September and will include Simon Kogan, FNSS; Roger Martin, FNSS and Burton E. Moore III, Director, Audubon Gallery.

American Art Collector features the exhibition in its August 2016 issue. View The Feature (Courtesy of American Art Collector magazine).

National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors. Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s. It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States, and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century.

Brookgreen Gardens was founded by Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington in 1931 and today is a National Historic Landmark and a garden museum with the most extensive collection of figurative sculpture in an outdoor setting by American artists in the world.  In addition to the gardens, Brookgreen offers year-round courses and workshops to sculptors as well as programs and tours for visitors of all ages and interests.