Please note: This event has passed
84th Annual Awards Exhibition
August 05 - October 29, 2017
Brookgreen Gardens, Pawleys Island, SC
Douglas Aja, NSS: Dionysus Bronze | 12" x 20" x 10"
Eirik Arnesen Disintegrating Mortal Aqua Resin | 60" x 40" x 30"
Bela Bacsi, FNSS: Charlotte Italian Marble | 32" x 12" x 11"
Debra Balchen Fallen Angel Hand-Painted Ceramic | 12" x 9.5" x 12"
Alison Belt Hope is the Thing with Feathers Forton MG and Wood | 16" x 5" x 5"
Meredith Bergmann Mother & Child With A Glock Bonded Carrara | 21.75" x 18.125" x 2.25"
Claudette Bleijenberg Nurturing Bronze | 20" x 13" x 9"
Betty Branch and Polly Branch Martin Luther Plaster | 48" x 28" x 22"
Lindley Briggs, NSS: Hinged Skyscape Apoxie Clay & Cast Marble | 21" x 2.5" x 11"
Kate Brockman, NSS: Millennial Bronze, Aluminum, Concrete | 20" x 8.5" x 10"
Lewis Brown Nepenthes Linden Wood | 19" x 8" x 5"
Shuhai Cao Model Mr. Zhao GFRP | 22.6" x 21.8" x 15.6"
Jay Hall Carpenter, FNSS: Amelia Earhart Bronze | 30.5" x 10" x 8.25"
Kevin Chambers, NSS: Requiem Bronze | 36" x 11" x 8"
LeaAnn Cogswell, NSS: Mike Criscuolo Terra Cotta | 18" x 9" x 12"
Beverly Davis Ambassador of the Wild Bronze | 21" x 21" x 30"
Darrell Davis, NSS: Nocturne Bronze | 21" x 16" x 8"
Thomas Durham, FNSS: Dancing Female Minotaur Bronze | 18" x 7.5" x 7.5"
Barry Eisenach, NSS: C.M. Russell Bronze | 22.25" x 14.25" x 12.25"
Ruth Green Carry On Bronze | 8.25" x 9.875" x 3.625"
Lee Hutt, FNSS: All In A Day Aqua Resin & Wood | 18" x 10" x 9"
Scott Johnson Revelations 12:7 Bronze | 28.5" x 13.5" x 27"
Amy Kann, FNSS: Bloom Forton | 9.5" x 9.5" x 1"
Kenneth Kearney Old Vet of the 54th Bronze | 10" x 5" x 5"
Kristina Kossi Cannon and Gigue Bronze & Marble | 24" x 9" x 6"
Glenn Marlowe, NSS: Dan Perplexed Plaster | 44" x 17" x 18"
Roger Martin, FNSS: Sanctuary Bronze | 72" x 21" x 12"
Paul Moore, FNSS: Warrior Mudhead Bronze | 37" x 18" x 16.5"
Dora Natella, FNSS: Lightness of Being Bronze & Steel Plate | 48" x 47" x 12"
Olga Nielsen, NSS: Dreamer Bronze | 11" x 9" x 10"
Peregrine O'Gormley, NSS: Angelorum Wood | 21" x 11" x 8"
Louise Peterson, FNSS: Old Timer Bronze | 15" x 15" x 6.5"
Carl Raven Her Marble | 7" x 29" x 11"
LaQuincey Reed Only One To Get The Job Done Painted Plaster | 17" x 7" x 4"
Diana Reuter-Twining Maestro Bronze | 26" x 20" x 7"
Paul Rhymer Wake Up America! Bronze on Wood & Steel | 72" x 25" x 12"
Rosetta, FNSS: Ancient Truce Bronze on Granite | 7.5" x 24" x 24"
Jeffrey Rudolph Catamount Bronze | 24.5" x 17" x 11"
Rikki Morley Saunders Bella Bronze | 18" x 14.75" x 39.75"
Adam Schultz, NSS: Galatea Bronze | 44" x 12" x 12"
Tom Silveroli, FNSS: Peeking Around Corners FGR | 31" x 12" x 6"
Sandy Scott, FNSS: Roosting Rooster Bronze | 20" x 25" x 6"
Christopher Smith, FNSS: Diana Bags A Stag GFRC & Poplar | 39.5" x 27.5" x 3.5"
James Stewart, NSS: Omo Girl Bronze | 24" x 7" x 5"
Oceana Rain Stuart Eternal Bliss Bronze | 18" x 14.5" x 8.25"
Jeremiah D. Welsh, NSS: Reaction Time – The Lizard and the Roadrunner Bronze | 18.25" x 13.5" x .75"
Yang Wen Chinese Gongfu Gypsum | 14.96" x 13.77" x 11"

84th Annual Awards Exhibition
Brookgreen Gardens, Pawleys Island, SC
August 5 – October 29, 2017

The National Sculpture Society is pleased to present its 84th Annual Awards Exhibition showing at Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina. Opening on August 5, the juried show features the figurative works of 47 contemporary sculptors. The show will be on view until October 29.

The Annual Awards Exhibition is National Sculpture Society’s most popular show. Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes. The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds and disciplines of NSS members. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates make up the levels of sculptor membership in the organization, which is international in scope and appeal. National Sculpture Society is dedicated to promoting excellence in sculpture that is inspired by nature.

The Jury of Selection and Jury of Awards play an important part in the annual exhibition and each jury is comprised of two sculptors and one curator. This year the Jury of Selection chose the 47 works from the 233 entries. The Jury of Selection included Tom Durham, NSS and Director of Fine Arts Sculpture, Academy of Art University (San Francisco, CA); Debra Force, President, Debra Force Fine Art, Inc. (New York, NY); Margaret Keelan, sculptor and Associate Director of Sculpture, Academy of Art University (San Francisco, CA).  Sculptors featured in the exhibition are:  Douglas Aja; Eirik Arnesen; Béla Bácsi; Debra Balchen; Alison Belt; Meredith Bergmann; Claudette Bleijenberg; Betty Branch & Polly Branch; Lindley Briggs; Kate Brockman; Lewis Brown; Shuhai Cao; Jay Hall Carpenter; Kevin Chambers; LeaAnn CogswellBeverly DavisDarrell Davis; Tom Durham; Barry Eisenach; Ruth Green; Lee HuttScott Johnson; Amy KannKenneth Kearney; Kristina Kossi; Glenn Marlowe; Roger Martin; Paul Moore; Dora Natella; Olga NielsenPeregrine O’Gormley; Louise Peterson; Carl Raven;  LaQuincey Reed; Diana Reuter-Twining;  Paul Rhymer;  Rosetta;  Jeffrey RudolphRikki Morley SaundersAdam Schultz; Sandy Scott; Tom Silveroli; Christopher Smith; James Stewart; Oceana Rain Stuart; Jeremiah D. Welsh; and Yang Wen

A Jury of Awards will convene after the show is installed.  84th Annual Award winners will be announced at a closing reception on October 28; the Brookgreen Gardens “People’s Choice” award will be announced at that time as well.

National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors. Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s. It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States, and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century.

Brookgreen Gardens was founded by Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington in 1931 and today is a National Historic Landmark and a garden museum with the most extensive collection of figurative sculpture in an outdoor setting by American artists in the world.  In addition to the gardens, Brookgreen offers year-round courses and workshops to sculptors as well as programs and tours for visitors of all ages and interests.