85th Annual Award Winners


On its opening weekend, the Jury of Awards met at Brookgreen Gardens to decide the 15 prize recipients of National Sculpture Society’s 85th Annual Awards Exhibition.  The Jury of Awards is composed of at least two sculptors and a curator and this year included: Natalie Henderson, Art Curator, Southeastern Wildlife Exposition; Bryan Rapp, Sculptor Instructor, Coastal Carolina University; and Heidi Wastweet, NSS and President of American Medallic Sculpture Association.

The top prize went to Canadian sculptor, Roderick Morgan. A former art instructor and scientific illustrator, Morgan won the “Green-Wood Cemetery Award” in NSS’ 82nd Annual Awards Exhibition.  “I feel profoundly honored and overjoyed to learn that my sculpture Sylph has won the Gold Medal and Charlotte Geffken Prize at the National Sculpture Society 85th Annual Awards Exhibition,” Morgan stated. “The award is made even more significant recognizing the distinguished works of my fellow participants and by the fact that this is the 125 anniversary of this venerable institution. I want to express my gratitude to The National Sculpture Society for its enduring commitment to the art of sculpture [and] to the Charlotte Geffken foundation, to the judges, and to Brookgreen Gardens for hosting this display. The National Sculpture Society is an important motivator for me, and I expect has been for many artists throughout the years, …the annual exhibition in particular. This eminent tribute will inspire me as I continue my work into the future.”

NSS Gold Medal and Charlotte Geffken Prize of $4,000

Sylph by Roderick Morgan


NSS Silver Medal and Maurice B. Hexter Prize of $3,000

A Walk in the Woods by Walter Matia, FNSS


NSS Bronze Medal and John Cavanaugh Memorial Prize of $2,000

Sole E’ Brutto – Béla Bácsi, FNSS


The Anna Hyatt Huntington Award of $1,000 and a Brookgreen Medal

Venus by Rick Casali


Fred and Cheryl Newby Patrons Award of $1,000

Casual Friday by Neil Grant


Marcel Jovine President’s Prize of $1,000

Classical Dreaming by Tom Silveroli, FNSS


Marilyn Newmark Memorial Award of $1,000

Pontius Pilate by Tuck Langland, FNSS


The Susan and Robert Polack Prize of $1000 

Fluidity by Scott Penegar


Marion and Gilbert Roller Memorial Prize of $1,000

Starry Night by Martin Gates, NSS


Pietro and Alfrieda Montana Memorial Prize of $750

Marcy by Susan Wakeen


Agop Agopoff Memorial Prize of $500

Citizen by Lewis Bryden


Jane B. Armstrong Memorial Award of $400

I’ll Bury You With All the Others by Darla Jackson


Margaret Hexter Prize of $300  

 A Sacred Man by Neal Martz


Edith H. and Richman Proskauer Prize of $300

Rain of Faith by Ryan T. Schmidt


Beverly Hoyt Robertson Memorial Award of $200 and Gloria Medal

Sense of Life by Joseph Noorigian