Please note: This event has passed
86th Annual Awards Exhibition
August 10 - October 27, 2019
Brookgreen Gardens, Pawleys Island, South Carolina
86th Annual Awards Exhibition
Béla Bácsi, FNSS: Donna della Luna Italian Statuary Marble | 19
Manuel Ferreiro Badia Dance Diorite Stone | 22" x 12" x 8"
Joy Kroeger Beckner, FNSS: Cozy Bronze | 3.8" x 3.25" x 1.25"
Jeff Birchill, NSS: Reef Explorer Persian Red Travertine | 10" x 11.5" x 24"
Richard Black I’m With Her Bronze | 23" x 8" x 11.5"
Richard Blake, FNSS: Woman in Butterfly Chair Bronze | 20" x 17" x 20"
Marlys Boddy, NSS: Polar Vortex Ceramic | 14" x 10" x 7"
Paige Bradley, FNSS: Into the Light Bronze | 14" x 12" x 12"
Jeremy Bradshaw Splittin’ Hare Bronze | 23" x 8" x 13"
George Bumann, NSS: Cold Turkey Bronze | 14.5" x 6" x 10.5"
LeaAnn Cogswell, NSS: Daughter Terracotta | 32.5" x 16" x 15"
Matthew James Collins, NSS: Girl From Togo Bronze, Copper and Glass | 22" x 15" x 15"
Eugene Daub, FNSS: Joe Hill: The Man Who Never Died Fired Ceramic | 26" x 20" x 15"
Beverly Davis Nevermore Mixed Media | 56" x 33" x 25"
Darrell Davis, FNSS & Juror: Another Season Bronze | 17.5" x 20" x 12"
Judeth Davis Fumiko’s Gift Bronze | 17.5" x 5.75" x 5.25"
Mick Doellinger, NSS: Incoming Bronze | 30.5" x 17.5" x 13.5"
Steve Flom Pneumatica Marble | 21" x 9" x 9"
Patz Fowle Pork Pie Mixed Media | 3" x 10" x 10"
Anne Geiler The Archer Bronze with Granite Base | 22" x 9" x 10"
Jay F. Goldstein, FNSS: Stilts Walnut | 20" x 10" x 10"
Michael Aaron Hall, NSS: Martin Luther King, Jr., The Night Before The ‘I Have A Dream’ Speech Resin | 18.5" x 8.5" x 14.25"
Cheryl Horning Young Woman Clay | 22" x 10" x 10"
Lee Hutt, FNSS: Benoni Cast Carbon Steel on Steel I-Beam | 18" x 7" x 9"
Kristina Kossi Luft Bonded Bronze | 15.5" x 22" x 12"
Walter Matia, FNSS: No Country For Old Frogs Bronze | 41" x 18" x 14"
Sean McGraw Seminole – Smallwood’s Store Circa. 1910 Bronze | 6" x 4.75"
Dino Mehaffie Say When! Bronze | 21" x 13" x 9"
Dora Natella, FNSS: Calliope Terracotta | 12" x 16" x 8"
Ken Newman, NSS: Mischief and Plunder – Magpies Bronze | 21" x 17.5" x 31.5"
Olga Nielsen, NSS: Young Mother Carrara Marble | 21" x 19" x 9"
Lawrence Noble, FNSS: Portrait of Lauren Chai Bronze | 24" x 5.5" x 4"
Peregrine O'Gormley, NSS: Flight (after Muybridge) Bronze | 24" x 36" x 14"
Mikhail Pertsev Aquarius Bronze | 5" x 6" x 3"
Mardie Rees, NSS: Wholehearted Cast Glass | 16.75" x 8" x 4.75"
Stephanie Revennaugh, NSS: Jumper (diptych) Bronze | 20" x 18" x 6"
Rosetta, FNSS: Cat Nap Bronze | 10" x 10.5" x 13"
Brittany Ryan Little Swimmer Aqua Resin | 34" x 16" x 16"
Stephen Saxenian Hrand Saxenian Bronze | 22" x 16" x 12"
Adam Schultz, NSS: Falling Behind Bronze | 9" x 6" x 6"
Sandy Scott, FNSS: Messenger of the Northwest Bronze | 24" x 19" x 10"
Ed Smida Vincent Van Gogh Bronze | 19" x 9" x 9"
Pati Stajcar, NSS: Urban Renewal Calcite on Steel | 20" x 8.25" x 3.75"
Leslie Stefanson La Bestia Bronze | 6" x 9'6" x 3.5"
Suzanne Storr, NSS: Bud Ceramic Mixed Media | 29.5" x 17.75" x 5"
Kristine Taylor, NSS: Resting Rabbit Bronze | 9" x 6" x 14.5"
Kathryn Vinson The Great White Kale Colorado Yule Marble | 25" x 23" x 6"
Susan Wakeen Iris Resin with Clay Finish | 18" x 8" x 7.5"
Joe Wayne, NSS: Nights of Wonder Bronze | 31.25" x 7" x 8.5"
Garland Weeks, FNSS: Balance of Nature V: Box Turtle with Lizard Bronze | 4.5" x 4.75" x 6.75"
Dale Weiler, NSS: Enigma Virginia Steatite | 17" x 12" x 15"
Jeremiah D. Welsh, NSS: Northern Torsion, Pike and Bull Bronze | 20" x 13" x 1"
Douglas White Tyler Bronze | 15.5" x 10" x 9"
Ellen Woodbury Exuberant Verde Guatemala Marble on Granite | 19" x 8" x 8"
Deran Wright A Waiting Game Bronze and Granite | 24.5" x 10.25" x 12"

On Saturday, August 10th, National Sculpture Society’s 86th Annual Awards Exhibition will open at Brookgreen Gardens in South Carolina. The juried show features the figurative works of 55 contemporary sculptors and is on view through October 27.  This year, the 14 prize winners from the show will exhibit their work in the Award Winners Exhibition in NSS’ NYC Gallery from November 25, 2019 to February 1, 2020.


The Annual Awards Exhibition is National Sculpture Society’s most popular show. Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes. The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds and disciplines of NSS members. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates make up the levels of sculptor membership in the organization, which is international in scope and appeal. National Sculpture Society is dedicated to promoting excellence in sculpture that is inspired by nature.


The Jury of Selection and Jury of Awards play an important part in the annual exhibition and each jury is comprised of two sculptors and one curator. This year the Jury of Selection chose the 55 works from the 460 entries received from around the world. The Jury of Selection included Arslan, Sculptor and Sculpture Instructor, The Art Students League of New York; Darrell Davis, FNSS; and Eric Silver, Director, Lillian Nassau, LLC.  Sculptors featured in the exhibition are: Béla Bácsi; Manuel Ferreiro Badia, Joy Kroeger Beckner, Jeff Birchill, Richard Black, Richard Blake, Marlys Boddy, Paige Bradley, Jeremy Bradshaw, George Bumann, LeaAnn Cogswell, Matthew James Collins, Eugene Daub, Beverly Davis, Darrell Davis, Judeth Davis, Mick Doellinger, Steve Flom, Patz Fowle, Anne Geiler, Jay Goldstein, Michael Aaron Hall, Cheryl Horning, Lee Hutt, Kristina Kossi, Walter Matia, Sean McGraw, Dino Mehaffie, Dora Natella, Ken Newman, Olga Nielsen, Lawrence Noble, Peregrine O’Gormley, Mikhail Pertsev, Mardie Rees, Stephanie Revennaugh, Rosetta, Brittany Ryan, Stephen Saxenian, Adam Schultz, Sandy Scott, Ed Smida, Pati Stajcar, Suzanne Storer, Kristine Taylor, Kathryn Vinson, Susan Wakeen, Joe Wayne, Garland Weeks, Dale Weiler, Jeremiah D. Welsh, Douglas White, Ellen Woodbury, and Deran Wright.


A Jury of Awards will convene after the show is installed and will include: Rick Reinert, Owner, Reinart Fine Art Gallery; Bart Walter, FNSS; and Basil Watson, Sculptor. 86th Annual Award winners will be announced at a closing reception on October 27; the Brookgreen Gardens “People’s Choice” award will be announced at that time as well.


National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors. Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s. It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century.


Brookgreen Gardens was founded by Archer and Anna Hyatt Huntington in 1931 and today is a National Historic Landmark and a garden museum with the most extensive collection of figurative sculpture in an outdoor setting by American artists in the world.  In addition to the gardens, Brookgreen offers year-round courses and workshops to sculptors as well as programs and tours for visitors of all ages and interests.