Elected Members Online Invitational

Elected Members Online Invitational

Online Exhibition



The National Sculpture Society (NSS) is pleased to present the Elected Members Online Invitational featuring the work of 44 NSS Elected Members.

The Elected Online Invitational includes major public monuments; private commissions; works from museum and corporate collections; and limited-edition sculptures. Materials include traditional bronze, carved wood and marble, paper and terracotta. The variety of styles and subject matter reflect the diverse thinking and ingenuity of NSS Elected Members.

Sculptors become NSS Elected Members by application and are reviewed and recommended to the Board by the NSS’ Membership Committee.  At the Annual Meeting, those sculptors who have received two-thirds affirmative vote from the Board, the Society’s Fellows, Sculptor Members and Directors become Elected Members.

Each sculptor has provided a link to their individual websites so that viewers may see more of their artwork.  The Elected Members Online Invitational is a way of experiencing artwork created by some of America’s finest sculptors.

Sculptors featured in the exhibition include: Mark Edward Adams, Douglas Aja, Debra Balchen, Richard Barnet, Richard Becker, Meredith Bergmann, Jeff Birchill, Marlys Boddy, Mary Buckman, LeaAnn Cogswell, Ernest Caballero, Erik Durant, D.L. Engle, Clay Enoch, Martin Gates, Dimitry GerrmanChristopher Gowell, Michael Hall, Ben Hammond, Al Henderson, Brian KeithJoshua Koffman, Glenn Marlowe, Garrett Masterson, Adam Matano, Curt Mattson, Garret McFann, Grainger McKoy, Geemon Meng, Yasumitsu Morito, Olga Nielsen, Ken Newman, Lori Norwood, Paul Rhymer, Scott Rogers, Wayne Salge, Stefan Savides, Pati StajcarSuzanne Storer, Kristine Taylor, Dale Weiler, Jeremiah D. Welsh, Jiannan Wu and Belgin Yucelen.

Gordon Alt served as guest juror for the Elected Members Invitational.  Alt was Dean for the Chicago City Colleges and University Professor in Chicago, before relocating to Washington DC in 1980.  While in the nation’s capital, Alt worked with the National Trust for Historic Preservation as Director of the Woodlawn Plantation and Frank Lloyd Wright House Museums. He served as the Vice President of the American Institute of Architects Foundation and Group Executive for the AIA, and in the 1990’s, was the East Coast Editor of the New Art Examiner. Alt worked directly with David Rockefeller Sr. and two consultants to advise on the use of the John D. Rockefeller estate and its art collections and architecture for public visitation. He was the Executive Director for the International Forum and worked on art and architecture projects for Turkey, Finland, Spain and the Czech Republic. He has served on several juries and committees, including the NEA, the DC Commission on the Arts. He is currently Executive Director of the John Cavanaugh Foundation (John Cavanaugh, FNSS, 1921-1985)

National Sculpture Society was founded in New York City in 1893 by a group of America’s most prominent sculptors. Its members have created much of this country’s public sculpture, coins, and medals since the late 1800s.  It is the oldest organization of professional sculptors in the United States and has been hosting exhibitions for over a century. Fellows (FNSS), Elected Members (NSS), and Associates comprise the levels of membership of the organization which is international in scope and appeal.  National Sculpture Society is a not-for-profit organization which supports excellence in sculpture through various educational programs including scholarships and grants for emerging artists.

Buy now