2017 Modeling Competition

The 2017 Richard McDermott Miller Modeling Competition took place on June 23rd in New York City.  Nine sculptors, ages 21-35, modeled a bust from life in just for hours. Fellow sculptors and art patrons watched as the artists sculpted from a live model in the timed competition. After the event, the room was cleared of guests and competitors, the works were numbered, and an awards jury was ushered in to select the three top-winning sculptures.

The award winners:

Sequoyah Aono: The Richard McDermott Miller Prize of $3,000 and a half-page ad in Fine Art Connoisseur and a quarter page ad in Sculpture Review

Jeffrey Zygmunt: The Roger T. Williams Prize of $1,500

Charlie Mostow: The Walter and Michael Lantz Prize of $750

Jurors for 2017 Modeling Competition:

Gavin Spanierman, Managing Director, Gerald Peters Gallery, NYC.
Eric Silver, Director, Lillian Nassau Gallery NYC; and sculpture auctioneer expert on Antiques Roadshow.
Jill Burkee, FNSS and Executive Editor, Sculpture Review.

The 2017 Competitors:

Sequoyah Aono
Richard Black
Jim Dessicino
Julia Levitina
Quintin McCann
Charlie Mostow
Philip Perschbacher
Robert Stutler
Jeffrey Zygmunt