2021 Fellows

National Sculpture Society is pleased to announce our newest Fellows:

Mark Edward Adams

Adams spearheaded the NSS Ambassador Communities, which bring together NSS members and the local sculpture scene.  He is responsible for the National Sculpture Society’s participation in FACE and PACE conferences, held by Streamline Publications.  He also set up exhibitions for NSS members at Sparks Gallery in San Diego, CA.

Emily Bedard

Bedard received the 2016 Dexter Jones Award.   Her bas-reliefs have received recognition from the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art, New England Chapter and New York Chapter.

Martin T. Gates

Gates is active with the Society of Animal Artists, the Southeastern Wildlife Exposition (SEWE) and the Ward Foundation.

Alan LeQuire

LeQuire is active in Tennessee, where he has completed several monuments celebrating Women’s Suffrage.  He also gives presentations on the creation of his monument based on the lost Athena Parthenos by Phidias.

Yasumitsu Morito

Morito taught ceramics in Japan and in Central America through the Japan International Cooperation Agency. He now teaches at the Art Students League of New York and is a Cultural Ambassador of the Tochigi Prefecture Japan for Ceramics.

Olga Nielsen

Nielsen has exhibited in several NSS Annual Awards Exhibition and has attended several NSS Sculpture Conferences.  She teaches portrait and figure drawing and sculpting at the Delaware College of Art and Design and is a Signature Status member of the Portrait Society of America.

Peregrine O’Gormley

O’Gormley’s public commissions can be found in the Nicola Valley Institute of Technology in Merritt, B.C.; the City of Anacortes, WA; and Lakedale Resort in San Juan Island, WA.

Alicia Ponzio

Ponzio gives workshops in her own studio, as well as for various companies, including Pixar University.  She is a graduate of the Florence Academy of Art and was its director of the Artistic Anatomy and Ecorche Sculpture programs.

Gary Staab

Staab has completed several monumental projects. He gives lectures and hands on classes about his work on prehistoric life models for museums, publishing, film, and private collectors.

Ryoichi Suzuki

Suzuki has taught sculpture at Utah State University since 2010.  He is also a member of the Royal British Society of Sculptors.

Joshua Tobey

Tobey is a regular participant in Colorado’s Artists’ Charitable Fund which assists fine artists in need by paying a portion of their medical bills.  He is also active in the Loveland, CO sculpture scene and opened his studio to visitors during the 2012 NSS Sculpture Conference.

LeRoy Transfield

Transfield currently serves on the NSS Membership Committee.  His designs were selected for the obverse and reverse of the 2018 World War I American Veterans Centennial silver dollar.

Angela Mia De la Vega

De la Vega is a Master Signature member of American Women Artists, and a Living Master at Art Renewal Center.  She recently cofounded FLIGHT, a non-profit dedicated to using artistic expression to raise funds to empower enslaved or socially excluded people.

According to NSS’ by-laws, a Sculptor Member shall become a Fellow upon the nomination by a majority vote (or unanimous written consent) of the members of the Board and the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the Fellows and Board Members voting at a General Meeting or special meeting of the members of the Society. Criteria for consideration of election to membership as a Fellow include: professional development in the field of Sculpture, participation in the Sculpture Community, educational contributions to Sculpture, and participation in the National Sculpture Society.

On October 13, 2021, the ballots were counted at NSS’ General Meeting. All thirteen sculptors received the necessary two-thirds affirmative vote to advance. Congratulations!

Image on Sculpture News: In a Still Field by Alicia Ponzio