83rd Annual Award Exhibition Winners

On Wednesday, September 13th, the Jury of Awards granted prizes to 14 sculptors in the 83rd Annual Awards Exhibition at Brookgreen Gardens.  The 2016 Jury of Awards included Simon Kogan, FNSS; Roger Martin, FNSS; and Burton E. Moore, III, Director, Audubon Gallery.  The 14 prize winners are:

  • Gold Medal/Charlotte Geffken Prize of $5,000Vivian by Dominique St. Cyr
  • Silver Medal/Maurice B. Hexter Prize of $3,000Undercover Hawk by Garrett Masterson
  • Bronze Medal/John Cavanaugh Memorial Prize of $2,000Synagoga and Ecclesia by Joshua Koffman, NSS
  • Green-Wood Cemetery Award of $1,000 – New Eyes by Peregrine O’Gormley, NSS
  • Marcel Jovine President’s Prize of $1,000Mill Dog Rescue by Louise Peterson, FNSS
  • The Pat Munson Prize for avian sculpture, $1,000The Once and Future Kings by Walter Matia, FNSS
  • The Marilyn Newmark Memorial Award for a realistic sculpture done in the classical tradition, $1,000Amadeus by Magdalena Dobrucka
  • Marion and Gilbert Roller Memorial Prize of $1,000Poesy by Bela Bacsi, FNSS
  • Pietro and Alfrieda Montana Memorial Prize for an outstanding work, either carved or cast, $750Mayflies and Trout Rise by Jeremiah D. Welsh, NSS
  • The Agop Agopoff Memorial Prize for a classical sculpture, $500Ovis Aries by Sandy Scott, FNSS
  • Jane B. Armstrong Memorial Award of $400Rockcroc by Carter Jones, FNSS
  • The Margaret Hexter Prize for a creative sculpture in the round, $300Siesta by Joshua Tobey, NSS
  • The Edith H. and Richman Proskauer Prize for a non-traditional sculpture, $300Alec, My Son by Suzanne Graham Storer
  • The Beverly Hoyt Robertson Memorial Award and Gloria Medal for a work by a young sculptor (age 40 or younger), $200 and C. Paul Jennewein MedalAwaken by Kevin Chambers, NSS