Martha Hughes Cannon Statue

Martha Hughes Cannon Statue

Five artists were shortlisted for the Martha Hughes Cannon statue for the National Statuary Hall in the U.S. Capitol.

The Martha Hughes Cannon Statue Oversight Committee narrowed its list of finalists to Edward J. Fraughton of Utah; Ben Hammond of Utah; Dennis Smith of Utah; Jane DeDecker of Colorado, and Dora Natella of Indiana.

The selected sculptor was Ben Hammond.

A leader in the Utah Women’s Suffrage Association, Cannon testified to U.S. congressional committees and was a featured speaker at national suffrage conventions.

In 2020, the statue will arrive in Washington, D.C. as a symbol of Utah’s role in the national suffrage movement. Earlier this year, the Utah Legislature passed a resolution to remove the statue of TV inventor Philo T. Farnsworth in Statuary Hall in favor of a statue of Cannon, the first woman in the country to serve as a state senator. Each state is allowed two statues in the hall.

Image on Sculpture News: Martha Hughes Cannon by Dora Natella, FNSS

Buy now