Modeling Competition

Modeling Competition

The Richard McDermott Miller Modeling Competition is the opening program for National Sculpture Society’s 2017 Sculpture Conference. Sculptors Jedediah Morfit and Alicia Ponzio, as well as Gordon Alt, Executive Director of the John Cavanaugh Foundation, served as the Jury of Selection. They selected ten sculptors, ages 21-35, to compete on Friday, June 23. They are:

Sequoyah Aono
Richard Black
Jim Dessicino
Seunghwui Koo
Julia Levitina
Quintin McCann
Charlie Mostow
Philip Perschbacher
Robert Stutler
Jeffrey Zygmunt

The ten competitors will model a bust, from life, during a four hour period. Three prizes from $750 to $3000 will be awarded. The Awards Jurors for the Modeling Competition are:

Jill Burkee, FNSS and Executive Editor, Sculpture Review
Gavin Spanierman, Managing Director, Gerald Peters Gallery, NYC
Eric Silver, Director, Lillian Nassau Gallery, NYC; and sculpture auctioneer expert on Antiques Roadshow

The 2017 Participation Scholarship recipients are Alejandro Buchner, Brandon Irish, Sebastian Martorana, LaQuincy Reed and Sean Williams. Participation Scholarship recipients receive hotel accommodation, a $150 stipend and complimentary entrance to the 2017 Sculpture Conference.

Buy now