Sculpture House Annual Award

Sculpture House Annual Award

National Sculpture Society Presents the Sculpture House Annual Award to Amy Kann

The Sculpture House Annual Award is presented for support of figurative sculpture or in recognition of outstanding achievement.  Amy Kann fulfills both aspects.

Amy Kann is known for her exquisite bas-reliefs, her narrative sculptures and her terra-cotta forms.  Her sculpture is part of the permanent collections of The Smithsonian Museum, The British Museum, The Brookgreen Gardens Museum, The McNay Museum, the National Sculpture Society and The American Numismatic Society.  In addition to private commissions, Kann’s public commissions include The Brookgreen Gardens Museum’s 2010 annual medallion, The American Numismatic Society’s 2011 portrait plaque and medal in honor of numismatist and scholar Eric P. Newman and The Green-Wood Cemetery’s 175th Anniversary Medal.  She has received numerous awards from The Portrait Society of America, The Pennsylvania State Museum, the National Sculpture Society, Allied Artists of America, The Audubon Society, and the Catharine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club.

Kann dedicates much of her time to educational programming which encourages young and emerging artists. With her keen eye, Kann served as a juror for NSS’ 2013 Alex J. Ettl Grant (which she won in 2006) and as a juror for NSS’ 2010, 2011, and 2013 emerging sculptor competitions.  As Chair of NSS’ Education Committee, Kann transformed NSS’ scholarship program to provide for greater interaction between up-and-coming sculptors with career sculptors during the NSS Sculpture Conference, creating a learning experience for both.  Kann is also active in NSS’ Events Committee, spearheading the 2016 panel discussion on “Beauty” and 2017’s panel on “Abstraction and Design Within Realism.”  The energy and enthusiasm Kann brings to her leadership role as 1st Vice President is creating a bright future for National Sculpture Society and the sculptors it supports.

The Sculpture House Annual Award was first presented in 2003 through funding generously donated from Bruner Barrie of Sculpture House, Jack North of Chavant and Marc Fields of The Compleat Sculptor.  The prize consists of a certificate and a monetary award of $1,000 which will be presented on June 24th in New York City at NSS’s annual Honors and Awards Dinner.

Image on Sculpture News site: Transition by Amy Kann

Buy now